03 September 2009

chicago to denver........

So I got to spend about 5 hours in Chicago yesterday and I have to say it's a pretty nice place. It is a big city but oddly enough, unlike boston, people look at you kindly and talk to you too! The first thing i did after getting off in chicago was to find a locker to ditch my carry on bags into. After that i headed into the city to try and find some decent breakfast. the food on the train is not so good.....I went to a little greasy spoon diner that claimed to be americas number 1 breakfast called lou mitchells. it was pretty good but it's no sorellas! god i love those oatmeal chocolate chip pancakes!

After I had some food in my gullet my next mission was to find the giant shiny bean that cdunc had told me about. I found that and some other really cool sculptures, check them out:

this reminds me of a necklase i used to wear.....


i cant upload anymore pics because the connection is too weak, i'll put them up asap!

After boarding the train in chicago i had the pleasure of sitting next to an old woman named june who spent her entire 2 hour trip talking to me about he family and life. it was pretty interesting.  she made sure my parents knew i was going to cali and that i should respect them. then she gave me a bible. lol she reminded me a bit of my grandmother we call mom mom, but a lot less crazy.....

The ride last night was a lot more exciting than the first night. I hung out in the lounge and had a couple drinks with some people. we mostly talked about politics, love, ourselves, made wine art on the table, listened to nicole from canada play grateful dead and beirut on her mandolin, listened to andre from ukraine explain to us that he wanted a wife and a soul mate, but not all in one person, and matt from denver confided his trust fund baby status and bought rounds for everyone. all in all it was a good night and i hope there are people as interesting on the train tonight!

pulling out of denver now, i smell like coffee because i thought i was going to miss my train and ran into a door the wrong way and exploded my delicious large coffee all over myself. oh well it was a brown sweatshirt, could be worse. i have clothes to change into. and after all that, i was more than early for the train.........no darjeeling limited slow motion train boarding this time......

la tout l'heure.....

0 comments: